DCC Scholarship Award Winners 2017





Tom Thiessen, Board Chair for DCC, with
scholarship recipient Celine Matyi at College
​Jeanne Sauve convocation.

This past June, high school students Alegra Nicolin of St. Mary’s Academy, Haley White at Dakota Collegiate Institute and Celine Matyi, attending College Jeanne Sauve, were each awarded $500.00 scholarships by Dakota Community Centre.  These scholarship awards were given in recognition of their hard work and dedication to the community and academics. All applicants were reviewed and selected by the Centre’s Scholarship Committee and approved by the Board of Directors.

Tom Thiessen, Board Chair for DCC, presented Celine Matyi her scholarship award at College Jean Sauve’s convocation ceremonies at the end of June. “We're very proud to be able to recognize their commitment to our organization through volunteerism and sport and, to assist these aspiring members of the community to pursue their educational goals,” said Mr. Thiessen.

To be eligible for a scholarship award the applicants must first be a catchment member of the Dakota Community Centre. Also, dedication to community through strong volunteerism, commitment to club activities and sport, leadership, and academics must be demonstrated and supported in their application. First year full-time enrollment in a post-secondary institution is also required. 

 “Our youth are an integral part of the community and our bright future. This year’s recipients have worked hard both in and outside of school, demonstrating a high level of dedication, while also giving back to the community and others,” says Michele Augert, DCC’s CEO.

Criteria for consideration include maintaining a 70% average and higher in their final year of high school and, have demonstrated a commitment to the Dakota Community Centre over the past two years through sport participation and/or volunteer work.

Next year’s scholarship applications are due March 31, 2018 by 5:00 pm. Application information can be found at dakotacc.com

Congratulations and best wishes for the future Alegra, Haley, and Celine!

Back to News List